I may be a Canuck, but I’m not THE Canucks

CorkscrewAnnie
4 min readMay 9, 2024

In which the author asserts she can be Canadian and NOT follow ice hockey

Woman putting up her hands in a gesture of refusal
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

My city is currently suffering from a sports malady. It’s a highly virulent infection called the Vancouver Canucks Playoff Bandwagon.

Symptoms include excessive alcohol consumption, repetitive horn honking, wearing excessively priced team jerseys, leaving work early on game days, and entering into reckless bets with people from the city of the opposing team.

Typically amiable people suddenly jump onto this bandwagon and abandon their normal behaviour, decorum and common sense. Political leaders are not above succumbing (after all, there might be votes in it).

And apparently, I am immune from this periodic illness. Despite the fact that my parents met on a blind date at a hockey game (how Canadian is THAT?), I guess I didn’t get the gene.

But I still get an allergic reaction.

Several years ago, the local outpost of the National Hockey League (which is, in fact, international, with teams in the Excited States of America) adopted a dubious advertising slogan: “We are All Canucks”.

I am a Canadian (for my American readers, this is a slang term: Canuck, similar usage to “Yank” for a US citizen.) But I am NOT a Canuck (defined as hockey fanatic and…

--

--

CorkscrewAnnie

Recreational writer, collector of antique corkscrews, urban gardener and retired management consultant. Still trying to figure out what to do when I grow up.